Horrible Histories

Morning all! First week of holidays is done and dusted. Second week is going super fast! I am looking forward to getting back into lectures …. but holidays are so good! haha. Anyway, this morning I thought that I would share a few of my procrastination techniques, as others have done. My favourite was Diane’s post about TEDx Talks. Check it out here.

Anyway, yesterday I was working on assignment 2, making some good progress, when all of a sudden the procrastination hit me unawares. In the space of a few minutes I went from happily writing my unit plan, to watching episodes of Horrible Histories.

As a huge history fan, and a huge BBC fan it was probably inevitable that I would fall in love with the amazingness that is Horrible Histories. However, the more and more I watch it, the more I realise that it is actually an amazing educational resource! Why? How? You ask. Well, because they through traditional teaching methods out the window and engage the audience through funny skits and awesome and gory historical facts. I have learnt more by watching Horrible Histories than I ever did in school.

Now, I am by no means suggesting that we should throw all history classes out the window and instead only watch Horrible Histories. No. But History teachers should be constantly engaging with ICTs such as Horrible Histories to help cater to the students. Also, we should take a leaf out of their book and present history as it actually is: exciting, interesting and fun.

For example, the video below tells the story of Lady Jane Gray, who was Queen of England for nine days. But instead of just monologuing the content, it’s imparted to the audience in a fun creative way.

If you’ve never seen or heard of the program, I really recommend checking it out. There’s loads of episodes available on YouTube. There’s also loads of resources available online to supplement it. For instance, this website offers some sample lessons plans and ways to integrate Horrible Histories into the history classroom.

Happy studying all!

Kate

Leave a Reply

