Interesting Behaviour Management Techniques Direct From the Fountation of all Knowledge — AKA My Mentor Teacher

Hola mi amigos!

One week of prac done! Yay! Two more to go :)) My first week has been GREAT! Not at all like I was expecting (see my previous post about my practical experience anxieties). I have learnt so much from not only my mentor teachers, but also the other teachers around me, who are amazing teachers (obviously they must be, most of them taught me!). A number of other EDC3100 Students have written awesome reflections of their first week of practical experience. Check out Saranna’s post, Jessica’s post and Jill’s post.

After a week back in school I can definitely relate to this video!


There are some many different types of teachers. But it’s important to remember that just because someone has a different teaching style to yourself, doesn’t mean that they are an ineffective teacher. The mark of a truly good teacher is how they manage challenging students. I don’t know if you’ve come across any, I know I have come across one or two.

And that brings me to:: Interesting Behaviour Management Techniques Direct From the Fountation of all Knowledge — AKA My Mentor Teacher

These a a list of cool behaviour management techniques that my mentor teacher has either shared with me, told me about or I have figured out for myself!

1. USE YOUR INDIVIDUAL SENSE OF HUMOUR. Using your sense of humour will help to build relationships with students. My mentor teacher often shows internet memes or random video clips at strategic intervals such as the beginning of the lesson, as well as the middle and end. It is actually a really effective technique for helping the students to settle down after break or other classes and focus on the content.

2. USE TONE. Changes in tone are really useful. You don’t need to yell at students to show that you are angry, just change your tone of voice to let them know that you are serious.

3. GET ANGRY BEFORE YOU ACTUALLY ARE. This was some advice from my sister who is a primary teacher. She told me that you should never get angry when you actually are, but rather when a situation is starting to get out of hand snuff it out quickly by changing your tone to let the students know that you’re serious!

I’m sure that they’ll be more to come!

Happy studying!

Leave a Reply

